A serious problem affecting countries right across the globe is the lack of water for drinking, washing and other household uses. Why do many countries face water shortage, and what could be done to alleviate the problem?

Next to air, water is the most important element for preservation of life. In the last decade, lack of water has become a serious problem which directly affects human being's life. In this essay, I will discuss the possible causes and remedies to overcome this issue. Water scarcity brought on by a combination of climate change and mismanagement. One of the main cause of the problem is flooding irrigation in traditional farming. That is to say, in some arid countries like Iran, agriculture accounts for around 90 percent of total water usage. Despite the fact that Iran is an arid country, most farmers still rely on traditional methods which wastes around 60 percent of the water used and date back centuries, or plant trees that thrive with water. One way to alleviate this issue by government would be to empower farmers to set up drip irrigation system which can save up to 80 percent more water than conventional irrigation and can even contribute to more crops yields. Moreover, it should be compulsory to use crop species that are native to arid regions and are naturally drought-tolerant. Another obvious reason of this issue is household waste water. In other words, the average person unknowingly wastes up to 30 gallons of water every day. This problem could be addressed by launching publicity campaign in the media and in schools to educate people about how to use less water in our daily life. For example,by turning off the faucet while doing oral care or watering the plants in the evening to minimize evaporation. To conclude, more than 180 million people are now affected by water poverty. The responsibility of tackling this problem lies not only in the hands of citizens but also requires the Agriculture Ministry help. Action must be taken urgently, otherwise we will face catastrophic results in the future.