Some people say that technologies such as mobile phones are disrupting social interaction. Do you agree or disagree?

These days a public debate has been going on over whether technological devices cell phones are detrimental to social relationships. I completely agree with that point of view for the following reasons. Social interaction has been affected by the advent of more sophistication in technology, specifically on mobile phones and computers. To start with, nowadays these devices can download a myriad of applications, which make a person stay busy most of the time without having close contact with anybody. For instance, many people have in their phone e-mail, games, different social media apps, internet browsing, educational courses, and many other tools that in some way facilitate the completion of certain activities and provide some entertainment, but unfortunately they absorb people’s minds most of the time leaving no room for social gatherings with friends, and family. There is no doubt that the developments in technologies have facilitated the connection with others in any part of the world; nonetheless, it has made it easier at the same time to avoid meeting with the frequency that people used to do a couple of decades ago. To illustrate further, my family has opted since last year to plan internet video calls every other month. Unfortunately, since that, we stopped having regular dinners and having drinks together, which has affected that emotional interaction with everyone. To conclude, advancements in technology have become an advantage in different aspects; however, human interaction has been impacted. Therefore, people should be aware of that and revive the old way of meeting with others.