Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, others think that zoos are useful to protect rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the present age, whether zoological parks should be allowed to function is matter of controversy. Some people assert that these places are harmful for the animals, whereas others believe that they provide a place for their protection. I think that some zoological parks are great if they provide the appropiate environment to keep them. There are several reasons why some part of the society believe that zoos are cruel. First, many of these places that use animals for the sake of entertainment and keep the creatures in closed spaces. Therefore, these surroundings do not offer them the freedom they need to live a natural live and many start getting sick. In addition to that, these living beings are not provided with the required nutrition that they normally find in their original surroundings, therefore, they get weaker physically and their life span shortens. To illustrate further one of these natural parks in my hometown was closed, because the animals were in a detrimental condition due to an innapropriate artificial environment and their poor health. On the other hand, some parks are found to provide good care for the living species adapting an environment that simulates very closely their natural atmosphere, consequently, they can develop in a normal way. Another aspect that is important from some of these adapted settings is the fact that they provide protection for some endangered species, facilitating the correct breeding and reproduction avoding the extinction of them. To cite an example, there is this wildlife zoo in Australia founded by Steeve, who was widely known as “the crocodile hunter”, This zoo holds a diverse of species that were about to get extincted, now they enjoy of a spaced ecosystem where they feel at home are fed correctly and are well cared by professionals. To conclude, adecuated parks that are used to have animals to entertain the public can be endagering engaging for the species that are taken unnecessarily from their native