Some people think that spending a lot on holding wedding parties, birthday parties, and other celebrations is just a waste of money. Others think that these are necessary for individuals and society. Discuss both views, and give your opinion.

A highly controversial issue relates to whether using a lot of money on throwing lavish parties is nonsense or whether it is imperative for people ’s well-being and their communities. In this essay, I am going to examine both points of view, and then explain why I believe that gatherings are indispensable to individuals’ contentment and their society. There are some people who argue that the money they earn should not be used to hold costly parties. This is because they do nothing to do with their survival. These days more and more couples in Japan are selecting not to have wedding receptions and to spend their savings to enhance their standard of living. Plus, It is possible to say that people should put aside as much money as possible for their life after retirement. A lot of Japanese people feel insecure and apprehensive about pension schemes because of the imminent super-ageing society. Looking at the other side of the argument, it is often claimed that parties play a vital role in people ’s mental health and their society. This is because people can relieve stress by attending parties. To illustrate, because of the COVID-19 pandemic, they are required to postpone their wedding parties, causing many to suffer from depression and, in the worst case, commit suicide. A second point is that companies can improve their creativity by holding parties to increase the fidelity of their employees. This results in a large number of companies yielding more profits, which positively affects the economy. In conclusion, both views have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that celebrating various occasions plays a vital role in contemporary society. This is because parties, with their therapeutic effects, contribute to people ’s mental well-being. Those who are mentally well can perform well in the business world and can yield a lot of benefits, enabling their society to thrive.