The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most popular language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having one language in the world?

On the effect of tourism, English has become the most prominent language used in the world and it is expected to replace all other languages. This essay will analyse the benefits and drawbacks of having only one international language. One evident merit of using an internationally standardised language is that it will enable understanding between people of different countries. As a matter of fact, languages represent people’s thought, therefore using the same language would mean a similar thinking pattern and one can easily relate to others’ idea. Another reason for adopting one language is the economic benefits. Without any communication barriers, international trade would thrive and bring about greater financial prosperity to almost every country. For example, businesses can reach global contracts at a much faster pace, and the language difficulties foreign expatriates might face can be eliminated. However, there is evidence showing that there should be a variety of languages, one of which is to preserve cultural diversity. Language is a part of every culture, therefore without the use of many languages, the culture associated with them will slowly disappear, which would be a loss to the heritage of mankind. Moreover, tourism would certainly suffer, since there would be no reason to travel for pleasure if there is no difference between countries’ language and cultural identity. This would devastate many countries that rely on tourism as a source of income. In conclusion, although there are certain direct benefits to the world when there is only one present language, the drawbacks of this development are far worse and severely overshadow the good points in the long run.