Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumber. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The demand for technicians such as electricians or plumbers is increasing day by day. Consequtively, increasing their hourly price, but that does not mean one should be motivated to pursue vocational training solely for this reason. The following essay describes my take on the given statement. A child spends a lot of time during high school in exploring various domains such as arts, math, science etc., and after graduating high school contemplates on which path to choose, with an added pressuring of entrance examinations of the universities. It is a tedious as well as an expensive process to apply at various universities. This not only shows the passion of the child in that particular aspect, but also depicts an important career step taken to pursue academic education within the chosen subject of major. On the contrary, vocational training is an important life skill that we should learn at a younger age in school as a life sustainability skill that should also include things like planning finances, filing taxes etc., to be independent later in life. Choosing to take up a profession purely for the current demand for it would lead to low job satisfaction in the long run, rather than pursuing their interest. In conclusion, demand for particular skill or jobs is temporary and will change time to time, but it is crucial to follow our passion as a career for long term happiness. Therefore, it is also important to learn new things and grow in your current choice of profession to keep up with the current market, irrespective of academic study or vocational training.