Medical services should be run by profit-making companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether healthcare should be operated by profit-oriented providers is up for debate. I believe there will be profound repercussions if humanitarian services are controlled by enterprises. First and foremost, this phenomenon will enlarge the gap between the wealthy and the deprived. If medical systems are designed for being profit chasing, limited manpower and resources will be occupied by the top 1% of the population and this will force the poor resort to suffer from curable disease and lower the possibility of survival. Countries without public health services, such as the US, are one of the regions where underprivileged people are trapped in a vicious circle of being ill without insurance covers for prohibitive medical bills. Furthermore, fundamental research often involves long-term investment, which may not be seen as profitable, and could be dismissed due to funding issues. The new mRNA vaccines for COVID19, for example, took more than 20 years of investment and are lifesavers during this pandemic. On the other hand, there are various problems for non-profit health service providers. Financial support is a constant challenge. Regions with national health services, even though with aid from governments, are still plagued by the disruptive fraud of service takers. Some patients. as way of example, may visit the emergency unit for less serious symptoms and wear out medical staff. Subsequently, doctors and nurses are losing their motivation towards advanced research and techniques. Taiwan, which is famous for affordable health infrastructure, for instance, is facing the looming trend of scarce youngsters in the healthcare workforce. In conclusion, governments should seek a balance of profit-oriented and health care systems to offer the public a sustainable society.