Many people are working longer hours. Why is this happening? What problems can this cause to people?

Nowadays, It has been observed that people spend more time in the office rather than at home. This essay will discuss the reasons for this development which include industrialisation and human desires. It will also analyse the effects of such a trend on society. There are majorly two reasons for this problem. One of them is the rapid industrialisation over the past few years which have impacted companies to change their way of working. Working hours at the workplace has increased than before because of the workload to achieve the targets. For instance, sales executives work more than standard hours to achieve monthly targets set by their management. Another reason is that people are becoming a part of the rat race to earn more money and buy their desired materials such as car, house, and electronic gadgets; as a result, they end up working extra hours to earn compensation. Thus it can be said that these two factors are the reasons for this trend. Because of the aforesaid reasons, employees can face detrimental effects in their personal life. Working on a computer for long hours can damage eye sights and may cause stress. Moreover, this also creates a gap between families as working professionals do not get much time to spend with their family. For example, if an employee is working on a project and he has a timeline to submit the project within a timeframe, then he will work even after working hours are over and would not be able to give time to children To conclude, the company staff is spending more time at the workplace in order to achieve goals and fulfil personal desires by earning money for extra time which is causing harm to their health and personal life. However, such an issue can be controlled if employers promote standard working time.