The world today is a safer place than it was a hundred years ago, and governments should stop spending large amounts of money on their armed forces. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The world is now safer place than it was a century ago. Therefore, governments should not waste vast amount of money on their armed force. It is indisputable that security of people in each region is one of the main factors to remain peaceful lives in humanity. However, there are many international agreements happens nowadays and I believed that the world can be peaceful with the intention of morals and ethics rather than the violence war. A century ago, the world is suffered from World War I, II and almost every country around the world gave their hope on the armed force to protect their best regions. The governments invested tremendous money on military force in purpose of guarding their land. For example, America invested money to invent military submarine over trillion dollars to attack their enemy countries. Moreover, America also invent the powerful weapons like nuclear bombs, as we all knew that Hiroshima city was destroyed by this atomic bomb and this situation had led to the victory of America and their allies countries. This is why the governments spend large amount of money on their armed force until today. On the other hand, there are many international agreements after WWII to remain peace in the globalization. For instance, many international laws and agreements are set up to remain the benefits of states follows the basic morals and ethics including the international organization such as UN (United Nation). Therefore, the world today is now safer than it was a century ago because there is no violence like Word War I or II. Unfortunately, there are people in many countries suffer from huger and still live in poor health conditions. Hence, the governments should concern about the problems of economy and health issues. They should spend money to improve this conditions rather than the armed force. In conclusion, the major problem of many countries around the world is not about the terrestrial but the economic status of people. I strongly agreed to this essay that the governments should stop spend large amount of money on their armed force but should spend money to improve the quality of lives.