Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There are those who contend that children should learn a foreign language while in primary school while others believe it should be done in secondary school. While there are advantages to gaining a second language earlier, I firmly believe that there are far more disadvantages to it. The following essay will elaborate on my reasons. The disadvantage to this is the acquisition of another tongue while still in primary school ignores the fundamental right of kids to play and enjoy their childhood. This entitlement is highly recognised by experts in the field and given emphasis by global organizations dealing with their welfare. To illustrate, various global organizations dealing with juveniles have repeatedly reiterated their need to be able to enjoy for them to become well-adjusted individuals. If these little ones are forced to learn another language, instead of playing, they might not be able to optimize their happiness level which, in turn, will negatively impact their development as a person. Moreover, teaching a different lingo while they are still young might sow confusion in their minds. For example, I know of a family who is multilingual but their young ascendants are mixed-up as to what words to choose in describing something. While it is true that a young individual's brain is like a sponge and absorbs better than an older adult, it is also confusing at the same time. Despite the disadvantages, are also advantages to gaining another vernacular while still young. Children are known to retain more than their adult counterparts. For instance, due to their vivid imagination, they can very handily recall certain parts of a story told them. In like manner, their absorption of details is only comparable to that of a sponge. In conclusion, while it is admitted that learning another patois is productive, it is better to delay this much later when these young individuals are in a higher level of schooling. As already outlined, the disadvantages of compelling them to gain another vernacular while still in pre-school are heavier than the benefits. It is projected that given the relevance that this issue has in the formation of young minds, this will continue to be the trend- let them play while they are kids.