Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that smoking is a threat to people's health. For this reason, there is currently a contentious argument over whether or not people should be allowed to smoke in public places. I totally agree that this activity should not be permitted in public areas, and this essay presents arguments to support my opinion. The main reason why I believe smoking should not be authorized in public places is that it is harmful to people's health. This is because the chemicals components present in cigarettes completely threatens people's lungs. There are numerous researches proving that not only the smoker is affected, but also those who are close to him. For instance, when people are close to someone who is smoking, they inhale these chemicals and the effects are the same or even worse. Therefore, people should not smoke in public because they can harm others' well-being. Another reason why I support the notion that smoking in public places should not be legal is due to the fact that people feel uncomfortable if someone starts smoking close to them. In fact, those who do not smoke hate it when someone starts this activity nearby. For example, according to a recent study, which analyzed people's reaction when someone started smoking close to them, 80 per cent of the participants have done some sign of disapproval. This is because non-smokers do not like the smell of it. In conclusion, I strongly believe that smoking should not be legal in public areas. Not only this activity can harm people's health, but also it is an inconvenient behaviour to have in public locations. I believe the government should create laws to prevent smoking in public.