It is seen that older adults are not given enough respect and facilities in many countries. What could be reason for this? What are the effects of this?

In a number of countries, the elderly are not treated with deference and not afforded suitable living accommodations. This essay will elaborate that this may be attributable to the poor upbringing and lack of awareness of the younger generation and will likely result to the neglect and deteriorating health of these geriatrics. Parents should teach their children well and raise their awareness that they are obligated to give respect and appropriate care to the elderly. To illustrate, in our family, we have educated our ascendants to do this by actually attending to our elders. In effect, we have shown them a good example of how to make our elders more comfortable in their old age by providing for their physical and mental needs. Disregard of the older population usually result to their neglect and fast decline of their well-being. Studies have consistently shown that when an old person is cared for by family, his disposition improves; on the other hand, if he is abandoned by family, his will to live disappears. For example, in a nursing home, it is often observed that when a resident is visited by his family regularly, he lives longer since he feels that he has a lot to live for; he looks forward to every visit and is excited to meet his family. In contrast, a geriatrics who barely sees his relatives is always in a sullen and quiet mood. When he gets sick, his physical decline is fast since he has no will to live. In sum, the lack of awareness and poor upbringing of the younger people are the usual causes for the disrespect to the older population which most often lead to the poor health and neglect of the elderlies.