A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years, the perspective of individuals with regards to assessing someone’s status in society has changed dramatically from moral values and etiquette to possessions. However, I believe that the acts of faith and sympathy towards counterparts still have had an edge over other assets. Hence, I completely disagree with this statement. In this essay, I will explain the significance of morals in the current society with examples. First and foremost, kindness and trust are essential traits that can surpass any materialistic values. This is because no one can undermine a warmhearted person as it is in human nature that individuals fascinate towards sophisticated behaviours. For instance, an Internet celebrity who aids street animals wins the hearts of enormous followers compared to other YouTubers who owns several dogs. This sort of case is quite common on current social media platforms such as Instagram, TikTok and Facebook where humanism get more attraction and concerns from people. Furthermore, contemporary people tend to maintain long-term relationship with others who support them in their miserable period. Since emotional support is the basis and prerequisite for establishing a solid relationship, not a single affluent can replace a childhood friend with whom a person has shared all sorrows and worries. Taking the case of the Covid-19 lock-down period as an example, the public was appreciating those who were sympathetic towards them rather than the rich group of the society. In conclusion, our society is still valued traits like kindness and trust nowadays, and people are still required to have a high moral value for obtaining a high social status.