Fewer and fewer children are willing to look after their parents as they get older these days. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In the previous world, society affords to support the lives of elderly people; on the other hand, nowadays, because of an increase in the number of old person, the ability of governments to subsidize them get weaker. Therefore, the children hesitate to look after their parents in the situation of that the government contribution is less than before. In the following essay, I would argue both benefits and downsides of this phenomenon and state that the cons will outweigh the pros. First of all, the negative spiral will be created because of the circumstance. For example, in Japan, a serious matter has occurred: since fewer children are looking after their parents, the portion of the revenue that used for the younger generation has been decreased by half compared to the past. This is because as sons and daughters do not take care of their parents, the amount of money that has to be spent on healthcare of elderly people has been raised; as a consequence, the government does not afford to spend on younger generations and they cannot support old person in their family. To sum up, the situation creates a spiral which has harmful impact on everyone in society. Second of all, however, it might be true that it would be beneficial to focus on their life for the youth because they have a future and responsible for making a better world. In this world, there are a lot of problem such as global warming, air pollution, plastic pollution, and so on. Those matters are difficult to solve in a generation; therefore, people who are young have higher possibility to tackle on problems. As a consequence, it might be said that investing not in the elderly individuals but in themselves could be beneficial for the future. In summary, because there is a harmful influence on the individuals in the society, the drawback will outweigh the benefit.