The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

One of the great results of the industrial revolution is the car of the 19th century. From that point, car production is developed and more are appeared on the streets in Britain too where is predicted to be 29 million of them on British roadways. Thus, other ways of transportation should be supported by the government and also regulate the possession and usage of cars. I cannot help but agree with the thesis. The damages to the air pollution caused by automobiles are not emphasized enough, just like the number of accidents and traffic jams. Environmental protection is a worldwide phenomenon. Many countries try to take steps to reduce the chemicals that are emitted into the air. For instance, in some European Union members have already banned diesel cars from certain cities and highly supporting the usage of alternative forms of transport like electric vehicles. This could be an optional solution to reduce the damage to the environment. Many people lose their lives because of a road accident or late from work because they have been stuck in a roadblock. Most workers use their car alone instead of sharing it with colleagues or traveling by public transport. This the cause of a lot of cars are jamming in one place and drivers become impatient which could lead to sudden and reckless actions and inducing such a disaster like a car accident. I have seen many of this situation in Budapest but also abroad. For this, controlling internationally who can own and use a car might help to prevent such disasters and confrontations in workplaces. To summarize, we can see the importance of tightening international rules to reduce problems on the road and using other forms of transport to cause less pollution. These are important aspects of our life which is why I agree and support the idea. Perhaps, there is a little chance that this will come true in the future.