Some people think that it is wrong to keep animals in zoos, while others think that zoos are both entertaining and ecologically important Discuss both views.

Animal keeping, especially wild animals in zoos is a controversial topic, one can support, one not supports the maintenance of these special homes. But one has to admit that zoological gardens can provide lifelong experience. Visitors are able to peer into the wild world without any danger or harm and learn easily about distinct species. Of course, in many cases for an animal being in zoo – means being captivated unjustifiably. As everything, this topic has also its advantages and disadvantages. Must be remembered that menageries have a very important educational role. Most of these complexes are built to form a huge garden with different buildings in it for each group of animals, so one is able to walk through and learn everything about species, even the endangered ones to. Common trait in case of every animal garden is that they have information describing the animal, its history and natural location. Important to realize that learning about animals brings empathy to many people, raising awareness about their endangerment in the wild, which in most cases caused by human interactions. Another key point is wildlife conservation. Wildlife conservation can be defined as the practice of protecting animal species and their habitats. Generally, this term is can be applied to species that are in danger of becoming extinct by unnatural causes. These unnatural causes can be for example, climate change, pollution, excessive hunting and high number of wild animals in captivity also a huge problem. But zoological gardens often take an active approach in helping animal populations. Many times, they breed captivate species in order to assist increasing Change the form of the verb increase show examples the number of individuals. These reasons are indisputable facts but must mention the negative side. By several reasons, captivation can have a positive effect – as it was discussed – but it certainly has a devastating effect too. No matter how nice the zoo is, room is limited for zoo animals, which can be especially troublesome for large animals that are prone to roaming. It can be heard, that many wild predators become depressed due to the small and man-made environment. Taking animals out of their habitat serves as an ethical issue because of its focus on human benefit as opposed to animal benefit, with of course, the exceptions of captive breeding and freeing animals from a dangerous situation. Also, equally important to mention, that sadly not all zoos are equal. There can be find poorly led gardens where animals are made to live in aggravating conditions. Fortunately, these kinds of gardens are not so common, in most cases the management really pay enough attention to their inhabitant’s needs. As can be seen, they have important role in education and animal protection. Nowadays more and more zoological gardens put animals forward instead of visitors wishes (and instead of money). So in brief, until the natural environment does not improve and wild animals are in danger in their habitat, zoos have undoubtedly important role in order to preserve their life.