Many companies sponsor sports as a way for advertising themselves. Some people think it is good for the world of sports, while others think there are disadvantages to this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In this day and age, it is popular for the sports world to be sponsored by private enterprises. Although some people argue that it can be disadvantageous, I am of the opinion that it has beneficial effects on the world of sports. On the one hand, it is believed that receiving support from companies can bring disadvantages to the sports world due to several reasons. One of them is that sports may be commercialized and dominated by the sponsors’ desires. To be more specific, athletes may be reluctant to become public figures who endorse the sponsoring brands, which can distract them from practice and training. Besides, investing money in sports teams somehow gives companies the authority to manipulate the matches’ results or advertise themselves offensively and excessively. Consequently, this can have bad consequences on the performance of athletes and the watching experience of audiences. On the other hand, despite some aforementioned demerits, I hold a firm belief that the world of sports can exert numerous benefits from investment by private organizations. First of all, specialized sports facilities for training can be improved with these financial supports. In fact, since the government has to allocate the national budget for more serious issues such as poverty, education and medical care, sports fields seem to be in desperate need of finance for development. Besides, the living standards of sportsmen can be enhanced if companies sponsor them. In particular, sports athletes can be paid a more deserving amount of money for their efforts in training and competing. This hence would motivate them to push their limits and bring pride to the nation. In conclusion, the disadvantages of this trend are varied, yet I am more convinced that it is good for the sports world to receive financial help from businesses in terms of updating sports amenities and paying higher salaries for sportsmen.