The number of TV programs is growing day by day. Some people say that it is good as it gives people more choices, while others say it affects the quality of TV programs. Discuss both and give your opinion.

The world of television gained popularity in 1990 with few channels to spread awareness among people. With better programs, some channels became the preferred choice in a household. Therefore, in this essay, we will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of more choices being offered and their impact on the quality of content. The foremost benefit of having more choices in content telecasted is that it leads to healthy competition. With better script, actors and theme, the programs compete to survive over others. This gives the viewer a lot of option to choose based upon his interest. For example, for children, many cartoon programs are available, similarly, people who are interested in sports, have the option to watch live games. But, having more choices has adversely affected the quality of the content in the telecasted programs. To beat the competition, a certain part of the program contains inappropriate and misleading words and actions to attract the audience. For instance, many abusive words, or scenes showing riots are telecasted which might affect someone adversely. Such parts of programs are infused to generate interest in the public. However, it impacts our society, especially our youngsters, who learn the wrong words. Hence, such content reduces the quality and reputation of TV programs. To bring the conclusion about the discussion, I feel, the number of programs and channels must be optimised to offer content of all interest. With capping their numbers, we could have equal competition among all interest groups with standardised rules of the things that should not be telecasted.