The internet is a great course of information and has opened up opportunities for people to learn all over the world. Is all information reliable on the internet? What could be done to control information online?

Owing to the invention and the development of the internet, people around the world are able to obtain a great deal of information as well as knowledge. However, it can be agreed that not all information is trustworthy, and therefore it is necessary that each person learn to check the information for verification. Even though the internet provides us with opportunities to learn, it is undeniable that a large proportion of information that we have access to online is untrue. One reason behind this is that it is easy for anyone to post content using online platforms. For instance, social media sites such as Facebook allow individuals to send information that can be accessed by anyone with electronic devices. Furthermore, the availability of creating content anonymously reduces the responsibility to place information without the process of checking for its validity. In order to reap the benefits of the internet, several measures must be taken to control information online. Firstly, taking a look at the source of the information is an effective step, as one can clarify whether the person or organisation that posted the content is knowledgeable or not. For example, if a certain website is created by a university professor, it is more likely that the information there is verifiable. In addition, visiting various sites that write about the same event or subject and comparing the information also helps users to gain the right knowledge because it enables them to identify the overlap and difference of the information. In conclusion, although the internet is a powerful tool that benefits individuals in a number of ways, misinformation admittedly exists. It is important to ensure that we receive the right information.