It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an indisputable fact that history plays an essential role in the educational system all over the world. However, children nowadays are getting overwhelmed with a considerable range of historical knowledge; some people, for that reason, believe that students should only focus on local history. In my opinion, both local and world history ought to be taught on account the tremendous benefits they bring. To begin with, local history is completely of great importance, especially for schoolchildren due to the fact that it is not merely a particular subject at school but the responsibility of every single student for their own country. To put it another way, through history, children are able to establish a national identity which is likely to enhance a sense of patriotism that encourages them to preserve/uphold traditional values. From another angle, learning global history is truly necessary as well. As a matter of fact, the definition of globalization today is becoming more and more popular, studying world history, therefore, keeps young learners up to date and indeed gives them more opportunities to get exposed to the outside world, which they definitely cannot learn through domestic one. Besides, world history also increases the chances of boosting/improving employment prospects in future career. Take Japanese firms for a typical example, owing to the appreciation of Japanese companies to a deep insight of their culture, it is totally advantageous for employees who acquire a wide knowledge of Japanese history. In conclusion, both local history and world history are extremely important for students because of their huge pros. Therefore they should be taught widely in the school curriculum.