Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. To what extent is this a positive or negative trend?

Sometimes governments provide the majority of their food by importing them instead of motivating farmers to grow food inside their countries. Although it seems a negative development to me, it can be a positive idea in some parts of the world. Both sides will be explored in this essay. On the one hand, food security of those who are living in these countries are not guaranteed since it is highly dependent on both global political atmosphere and its resultant economic situation. Indeed, importing food from other parts of the world cannot be a sustainable form of providing food in various situations. War, disease outbreak and famine are prime examples of prevalent occasions which interrupt the export of food. As a result, the importers of agriculture produce of these countries face serious problems if their only source of food is importing. On the other hand, the environmental conditions in some parts of the world does not allow to produce food. Agriculture consumes a considerable amount of water and soil which makes it an important issue in countries dealing with water and soil scarcity. The environment of Qatar, for example, will be damaged if the authorities decide to provide their food by farming in their arid lands. Therefore, it is essential some countries import food since they might suffer the environmental consequences. In conclusion, I think although importing food from other countries put food security of that nation into the risk, in that parts of the world which have water and soil scarcity importing food can be a positive development.