Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals,during festival periods. People nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

These days,many people feel that the meaning behind historic celebrations has been neglected and what really matters is enjoying themselves. I agree with this allegation to some extent and in this, essay I will explain my viewpoint. Personally,I think the Internet and satellite TV have had a dominant role in accepting foreign cultures between youngsters which lead them to forget their own traditions and their meanings. This is because of imposition by larger outside cultures. For instance, in Iran, most young people try to celebrate western festivals like Halloween, instead of holding Iranian traditional celebrations. Even though they have no idea about the concept of Halloween. Moreover, due to a more demanding working lifestyle, people are too busy to taking time to understand the main meaning of a traditional festival. Therefore, most people look forward to religious festivity as a holiday to relax and relieve their stress, instead of practising religion. On the other hand, there are signs that show not only the meaning of some festivals is remembered well, but also is being spreaded widely,take Nowruz as an example. It is a national new year festivity which is held by 300 million people around the world and its meaning is preserved by people and even Unesco. To sum up, I partly agree with the assertion that the main concept of the religious and conventional festival is faded out but there are some festivals which maintain their meaning and popularity. I think it would be a good idea to hold more writing competition about the importance of awaring about traditional and cultural festivals in order to revive their definition between youngsters.