In some countries, parents expect children to spend long time studying in and after school and have less free time. Do you think it has positive or negative effects on children and society that they live in?

Most of parents believe the achievement of children is directly proportional to the amount of time that has been devoted to study. In my opinion, spending excessive study time can cause negative effects on both children and the society. To begin with, children are likely to get tiring of study when they spending the vast of time on it. Thus, the excessive study time can be counter productive, especially when they study alone with paper and pencil activity which is generally regarded as boring and dry. In addition, with spending too much time on study, children may lose the opportunity to meet with the real world through other outdoor activities, such as visiting a museum, travelling abroad and participating in physical activities. A number of research results have demonstrated that outdoor activities can broaden a child's horizon and are more beneficial and meaningful than study mechanically. Besides, study both in and after school may not make students excel in the job market, because employers not only attach importance to job applicants' academic achievement, but value their social experience. Furthermore, this phenomenon is also lead to a couple of negative impacts on the society. There would be less well-rounded students if they only spent time on schoolwork. To certain extent, it would cause lower employment rate since having high academic achievement itself may not make students eligible for a job if they lack of fundamental employ-abilities which is gained by social activities, including communication skills, interpersonal skills and acting as a team player. Other than that, children tend to be less happier and prone to suffer from psychological and mental illness when spending large amount time on individual study and lack of communication with others. consequently, the declined happiness level is likely to give rise to suicide rate and anti-society behavior.