Some feel that school uniforms make schools safer for students, create a "level playing field" that reduces socioeconomic disparities and encourage children to focus on their studies rather than their clothes. Others say school uniforms infringe upon students' right to express their individuality, have no positive effect on behavior and academic achievement. Discuss both sides & give your opinion.

No one can deny that some people believe that school uniforms are a must to protect them from socioeconomic disparities and encourage them to focus only on their studies, while others prefer to think that Junior should allow wearing clothes of their own choice to express their individuality. In this, essay I will discuss the possible reasons that support each view, along with what benefits they bring to society followed by my personal opinion on the same. On the one hand, the option to think that schools must have a mandatory dress code to follow has its own benefits for many convincing reasons. Most importantly, it makes school safer and encourage juniors to concentrate on academic activities rather than focusing on clothes. The perfect example that illustrate this is Delhi Public School where students need to be in school blazers as a symbol of discipline and focused however it does not allow anyone to discriminate on the basis of clothes they wear. On the other hand, despite the above argument, other people choose to believe that schools without uniform have much more advantages over schools with compulsory uniforms for many obvious reasons. Firstly, it allows students to show or display their area of interest via the clothes they wear. A very good interpretation of this is a student interested in hip hop music expressing his or her likings wearing loose clothes with funky shoes and a cap on the head. In conclusion, it seems to me that uniform should be compulsory for student as it helps to maintain the sense of community in the school and break down class barriers among students nevertheless school can also allow students to wear clothes of their own choice to express, on any one particular day of the week.