In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why do you think it is the case? How should children and teenagers be punished?

Nowadays, juvenile delinquency is considered more frequent in many countries, which has raised an intense debate over how to punish these criminal youth and deter those potential lawbreakers. This essay will analyze the main reason behind this trend and argue that these young people should receive mild penalties which could give them chances to reform themselves. First of all, teenagers who are exposed excessively to violent images on the mass media and the internet are prone to commit crimes eventually. As problematic contents are more regular on movies and TV programs, the youngster will regard these as socially acceptable behaviours and may become more aggressive. What's worse, they tend to address their conflicts with others rather than try to settle the problems in due process. In addition, in many underdeveloped areas, poverty and a lack of education facilities can also contribute to higher adolescent crime incidence. Teenagers from financially disadvantaged families cannot afford to school or even to survive, which forces them to commit crimes. Although committing crimes is considered harmful to not only themselves but also to society as a whole, young criminals should be punished in a relatively mild way, compared to the penalties for adults. Because teenagers and children can be affected by the environment easily, and they are more likely to be rehabilitated as long as feasible channels could be provided. For example, young criminals should be sentenced to special bases for rehabilitation where they can join in regular counselling sessions. This will raise their awareness of a positive life and teach them how to become active and able members of society. In conclusion, the increasing youth crime rate can be attributed to the misleading and violent contents on the mass media and poverty. In that case, young criminals should be punished in a mild way and be given more opportunities.