Many men and women are making the decision to have children later in life. Why is this trend occurring? What are the impacts of this development on both family and society?

Nowadays, in many countries, it has been noticed that people are choosing to become parents later in their life. This essay will discuss the reasons for this development and the possible effects on families and society. The main reason for this trend is changing employment patterns. As more women started getting an education and enter the workforce, they tend to marry later and have children later in their life. In contrast to the past, people now are not able to maintain work-life balance, due to this they do not take a chance of starting a family. For example, since both men and woman be busy in their frenetic work schedule, they do not get time to think about children otherwise. Therefore, couples plan to start their family after they are settled in their life. Consequently, this creates an impact on families and the community. Firstly, with regards to the families, it becomes difficult for older ladies to get pregnant and may experience more health problems, such as a miscarriage, high blood pressure, which creates complications during the birth of a child. Furthermore, older parents may find the whole experience of bringing up a child more tiring if they are older. Secondly, with regards to society, if there are more people working at their young age, then a country will have a productive workforce to develop the nation. However, in the long-term, falling fertility rates will mean an ageing population with a lack of young people to join the workplace. In conclusion, there are several reasons for a younger generation to not have children at their early age after marriage which creates a positive and negative impact on families and society. If peoples’ lifestyle is not changed, then this trend is likely to continue in the future.