Many people believe that bicycle is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, it is no longer the main form of transport. What are the reasons? What can be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

In the contemporary world, means of transportation have changed immensely to cope with the pace of life and ensure a convenient and comfortable journey. It is opined by many individuals that among the vehicles people use, the bicycle is not only one of the energy-efficient transports, but also works to keep the body fit and fine. In this essay, I will explain why the bicycle is not being the most common transport nowadays, and the measures can be taken to influence the population to use it on a regular basis. To begin with, two significant pivotal aspects are liable for not riding cycle as people’s daily mode of transport. Firstly, in this era, we all run to catch time and accommodate many activities within this short period we get to live. In the quest for high-speed vehicles, people chose the faster mode of conveyance over the manuals, which is the most persuading factor for shifting towards others means, such as metro rail, bus, car, etc. Secondly, luxury and comfort have the top priority in today’s world, which does not support the usage of the paddle. Both the points have impacted the popularity of using cycle in the cities as well as rural areas. Even after considering the drawbacks of using the bicycle, the advantages of it always outweigh its disadvantages for which the public must be influenced to increase the use of two-wheelers. First, an initiative can be taken by the government to reduce the toll on roads and tax on bicycles and spare parts. Implementing these rules and policies can be the most impactful if individuals see the instant virtue of paddling. Moreover, to ensure the safety of the bikers’ administration can develop separate lanes for slow vehicles. Second, different activist forums can arrange physical fitness awareness programs to convey the positive effects of cycling. Besides, how cycling can restrict the wastage of time by curtailing the hours assorted for gym and also reducing the cost of conveyance as well as gymnasium can also be discussed. All the above measures are supposed to be adequate to grow individuals’ interest in riding bikes. In conclusion, we can say that due to the need for fast and effortless movement the public often shifts to the public transport modes. However, to pull the string of increasing health issues for lack of physical activities, cycling can play an essential role for all of us irrespective of gender, race, and class.