Some people think that people are responsible for their happiness. Others feel that happiness depends on other factors in their life. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recent survey found that almost 80% of the world population is unhappy. Some people are of the notion that oneself is the sole factor for his own happiness. While, others believe that the external circumstances such as loss of a loved ones can be the reason. This essay will address both sides of the discussion and give my opinion. To begin with, the foremost reason for people to believe that they are responsible for their own happiness is that we create our own external environment with our thoughts. When we think others are to be blamed for our situation we go into a negative circle which will push us to take more bad decisions which will further build a toxic circumstance. For instance, a recent survey by the pyschological department of Harward university indicated that having a negative outlook towards other individuals or the world will increase our probability of being unhappy in the future by 60%. This indicates how dampening it could be if we start putting fingers at others for our emotional well-being. While other believe that external factors such as the death of loved ones could be a major contributing factor for an unhappy life. Firstly, losing someone who is very close to us can be daunting and life can seem very depressing and unsatisfactory without them. For example, I had a friend who used to be the happiest person that I ever know of. But, tragically, she lost her father due to a recent pandemic and later she was an entirely different person she used to be unhappy and complaining all the time about how this specific incident could have been avoided. This illustrates that the loss of a loved one can be such a negative life-changing event. In conclusion, while we are the sole primary factor for our own emotional well-being other external factors namely losing a person close to your heart can also be a reason.