Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Conducting experiments on living creatures is commonplace. Although there are some real benefits to the human society favouring the practice, the sufferings of other creatures are much more significant. In my opinion, it is imperative that all forms of animal testing should be completely prohibited by the law. On the one hand, it is true to say that performing tests on living organisms is advantageous for both consumers and manufacturers. For pharmaceutical and cosmetic companies, prior testing on animals is not only affordable but also can help spot and rule out any hazardous components in a newly-developed product, like a type of lipstick or medicine, before it is introduced to the market. Therefore, the stage is considered necessary for both the firm and future consumers, because at the same time the production cost is minimized, product safety for human consumption can as well be ensured. As a result, tests on animals is still ubiquitous among industrial and medical laboratories. On the other hand, governments are recommended to forbid conducting animal experimentations. One reason is that in the modern days, other forms of animal are regarded to be the same as a human with emotions and feelings, thus should equally be protected by rights and laws. As far as this is concerned, doing harm to them is morally unacceptable no matter how helpful it might be for a human. Moreover, technological advancement today provides people with several alternative testing methods, artificial biological molecules, for example, so imposing impediments against using animals for experimental purposes is a way to encourage the shift towards less inhumane practices. In summary, even though testing on other living organisms is still common for its safety and affordability, my opinion is that it should be replaced with other modern biological technologies such as engineered cells. It is because the sufferings of these living creatures are much more considerable than the possible merits.