Some people feel that it is always wrong to keep animals in captivity, for instance in zoos. Other people say that there are benefits for the animals and for humans.

CONFINEMENT OF WILD ANIMALS IN ZOOS OR IN SIMILAR FACILITIES CONTINUES TO BECOME A CONTROVERSIAL TOPIC. WHILE FOR SOME PEOPLE, THIS IS MORALLY WRONG IN ALL ASPECTS; OTHERS OPINE THAT CAPTIVE ANIMALS ARE HIGHLY BENEFITED INSTEAD. IN THIS ESSAY, I WILL DISCUSS BOTH VIEWPOINTS PRESENTED AND EXPLAIN MY SUPPORT FOR THE FORMER VIEW. ON THE ONE HAND, THOSE WHO SUPPORT ZOOS HIGHLIGHT THE FOLLOWING SALIENT REASONS. FIRSTLY, CONFINED ANIMALS ARE SPARED FROM THE THREATS OF EXTINCTION SECONDARY TO HUMAN ACTIVITIES AND OTHER NATURAL OCCURRENCES. TO EXEMPLIFY, MANY EXOTIC ANIMALS THESE DAYS ARE NOW ON THE BRINK OF ANNIHILATION DUE TO UNREGULATED POACHING AND FOREST CONVERSION FOR COMMERCIAL PURPOSES. WITH WILDLIFE RESERVE PARKS AND FACILITIES, THESE CREATURES ARE PROTECTED AND WELL-TAKEN CARED OF. ADDITIONALLY, THE PUBLIC ARE MADE AWARE OF DIFFERENT KINDS OF ANIMALS. SHOWCASING ANIMALS LIVING DEEP IN THE WILD FOR PUBLIC VIEWING CREATES SOCIAL AWARENESS OF THE NEED TO PROTECT FORESTS AS THERE ARE TRUE, OTHER LIVING CREATURES DWELLING ON IT. ON THE ONE HAND, ANTI-ZOOS UNDERSCORES EQUALLY COMPELLING VIEWS. FIRST, ZOOS ARE LITTLE MORE LIKE A PSYCHOLOGICAL TORTURE FACILITY FOR ANIMALS. EVERY SPECIES HAS ITS OWN SETS OF INTRICATE BEHAVIOUR AND MODES OF LIVING BEYOND ANY HUMAN INTERPRETATION. CONFINING THEM, NO MATTER HOW HIGH QUALITY THE FACILITY IS, DEVOID ANIMALS OF THE OPPORTUNITY TO DEVELOP AND FULFILL THEIR FULL RANGE OF NEEDS AND INTEREST. WHAT IS MORE, WHEN HELD IN CAPTIVITY, THEY LOSE CONTROL OF THEIR LIFE AND THE ENVIRONMENT THEY LIVE IN. SOME ANIMALS, PREFER TO LIVE SOLITARILY BUT ARE FORCED TO LIVED WITH OTHER SPECIES. SOME ARE EVEN ENCLOSED IN THE SAME CAGE WITH THEIR PREDATORS. OVERALL, I BELIEVE THAT THESE HELPLESS CREATURES WILL ONLY BE SERVED RIGHT IF THEY WILL BE ALLOWED TO ROAM FREELY IN THEIR OWN HABITAT SO THEY CAN FULFILL THEIR INNATE INSTINCT. GOVERNMENT AND PEOPLE ARE INSTEAD, DUTY-BOUND TO SAFEGUARD THEM AT ALL TIMES.