The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last 10 years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend?

The drastic increase in the number of obesity cases in teenagers is a pertinent cause of concern. Explicated below are the causative factors and proposed solutions. To begin with, two principal causes of the aforementioned issue are the lack of promotion of physical activities in the age group in the academic institutions. Activities such as outdoor games, gymnasium and many more are beneficial for humans to regulate body weight and fats. Additionally, technology like social media platforms augmented reality games and many more also plays a vital role in shaping up the recent transformation of this behaviour. To illustrate this, a recent trend shows that the number of hours spent on social media has increased from three to four hours per day in the last decade. Hence, factors like digital platforms and lack of physical exercises are the causative reasons for the problem. Practical solutions for the above-mentioned causes are introducing a mandatory physical education course in the academic institutions and promote the benefits of such activities. Another optimal solution requires the involvement of parents to regulate the screen time for the kids per day and transforming them into other productive areas. To substantiate this, as per a recently published report by the ministry of education and child welfare of India. The above remedies show promising results during the first year after its implementation. In conclusion, having elucidated both causes and solutions, and anecdotal evidence presented supporting the assertions. It is also recommended, that more research awareness needs to be done, the potential of technological innovations be harnessed, so that the problem is alleviated and the proposed remedies are better implemented for the welfare of one and all.