Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Whether video games are detrimental for a player or not is debatable.A few people ponder that these games are innocuous as they act as an educational tool while others claim that they are unfavourable for the players. This essay will discuss both the merits and demerits of playing video games and provide evidence as to why I personally believe that the advantages are more significant than the drawbacks. To begin with, the first and foremost benefit is that many computer games develop cognitive abilities in a child. In other words, as the levels in a game increase, it helps to stimulate the brain muscles to solve them more efficiently thus improving the player's mental abilities. For instance, a study conducted by the Child Development Association found that most of the youngsters were able to quickly learn the numbers, alphabets and distinguish colours if they played games and puzzles associated with these concepts. Furthermore, there are other games such as escape rooms and mystery rooms where the player has to gather information from the surrounding and interpret the escape route before the time runs out. Hence, these games can enhance concentration, logical thinking and problem-solving abilities in an individual. Therefore, video games have numerous benefits. On the contrary, the predominant disadvantage is that children usually become addicted to playing games continuously. To illustrate, a survey conducted by Yale Psychologists found that 70% of students spend a minimum of 4 hours a day playing various games on the phone, laptop or tablet. Consequently,marks of the children decline and some even fail in the exams. Another point is that playing games on computer or Television adversely impacts the physical and mental health of players. For example, they develop backache problems, weak eyesight, poor sleeping pattern and even depression. Thus, video games can be extremely harmful to a person playing them. To conclude from the aforementioned arguments, I would like to infer that although computer games have several negative points, selective educational games play a paramount role in a child's brain development. Parents can keep a check on their offspring for playtime and only install games that add value to their lives.