Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the development of new medicines and check the safety of the new product, experiment on animals is being performed. Some advocates argue that this should be prohibited, while others favour this notion as it has some merits attached to it. I think that such activity is inhuman and should not be performed. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints of the topic and give my opinion. On the one hand, others often give paramount importance to animal experiments for two main reasons. Firstly, pharmaceutical companies find it affordable to implement their research on living organs such as rats, monkeys. This saves a lot of money for these companies, so they can utilise this money on other research practices. For instance, a human being will charge a huge amount of money to a company if they want to test a product on them, while the animal will be a cost-free source. Furthermore, when the product is tested on animal, it is safe to launch in the market with zero hazards to human life. Seen in this light, people may support it to avoid risk to the human body. 1 On the other hand, the detractors do not agree with the aforementioned standpoint, because they think that animals also have as much right as a human to live on the planet. The reason for this is if an individual decide whether should live or not, then humans can go to any extent for their benefit and can torture animals. For example, in order to check the degree of risk, humans can put animals at risk for their lives. Hence, it becomes apparent that using living organs for our own purpose is inhuman. To conclude, although some individuals may find experiments of new launch materials on animals cost-effective and safe, there is a greater risk attached to it for animals. In my perspective, governments should ban such activities and provide equal rights to animals like humans. It is recommended to come up with alternatives to perform such risky task instead of using living beings to experiment.