Some believe that men and women are equal and so women should be able to do any job they want. Others feel that there are certain jobs which are not suitable for women. What is your opinion?

Gender discrimination is still a controversial topic in many workplaces. Some believe that there should be equal opportunities for both genders to do any job in which they are passionate. However, in the opinion of others, including myself, there are certain occupations from which women should withdraw due to their biological characteristics, and this essay will explain why. Those who advocate gender equality claim that men and women possess the same qualities to perform a particular job. This means if a male employee has specific skills like leadership, interpersonal, or problem-solving skills, it is hard to say that a female employee will not possess them. As a result, both of them deserve an equal chance at the workplace. For example, countries like New Zealand and Finland have a female prime minister leading their nations more successfully. Therefore, many argue that women can perform all occupations similar to men and sometimes much better than them. Others, however, myself included, think that this equality cannot be possible at all times due to the differences in physical capabilities of the sexes. In other words, men are generally much stronger than women. Hence, it seems obvious that men will be able to perform a task that requires such strength at a much higher level than women. Miners, for instance, who have to spend all day underground manoeuvring heavy machinery, are far more likely to be male as they have much more upper body strength than a female. In fact, any industry that values physical strength and stamina would invariably choose to employ a man over a woman. In conclusion, this essay discussed reasons why some people support gender equality in the workplace, and some oppose it. In my view, because of the differences in strength, I strongly believe that men and women cannot perform all jobs equally well.