Computers are becoming an essential part of school lessons. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, computers have become an indispensable teaching tool in educational centres. I believe that the biggest benefit of using computers in education is the ability to provide audio-visual content students. In my opinion, the advantages of doing so far outweigh the minor disadvantages caused by the excessive use of computers. First and foremost benefit of using computers in school is that it has the provision of audio-video aid which helps students to comprehend subjects more effectively. This is because of the fact that children are more receptive of visual presentations and connect to them more quickly as they are attractive and easy to remember. As a result, pupils are able to understand complex concepts with efficacy and hence, consequently do well in exams. For instance, in a survey it was reported that students who learn subjects through computers have a strong hold of basics compared to students who do not use it. The primary drawback of computers is that it can take a toll on the health of children, especially those who spend too much time on it. This is because the monitors of computers reflect rays that could directly impact the eyes of the pupils and in turn affect their vision. For example, in a survey it was reported that 28% of learners were afflicted with vision problems / changes caused by watching computer screens for a long time. In conclusion, although computers might affect the eyesight of learners who use it beyond the limit, the positives it provides to pupils by helping them learn and understand different topics more easily is invaluable. Therefore, in my opinion, the advantages of using computers in education outweigh the disadvantages.