Many people think there is an increase of antisocial behavior and a lack of respect to others. What do you think are the causes of this and how to improve the situation?

It is true that antisocial and disrespectful behaviour in society has been on the rise recently. This trend might be attributed to problems in one’s life, but a joint effort by both governments and individuals can reverse the trend. Personal issues and low self-esteem are some of the factors that can contribute greatly to inconsiderate behaviour. First, personal problems such as work disputes or relationship conflicts could lead to prolonged stress. This potentially provokes bitterness and frustration, which might subsequently be vented on others. In addition, low self-esteem is another cause, which usually stems from family problems or school bullying. Indeed, individuals with a history of being neglected by their families or abused by their friends tend to be insecure, unconfident and have little to no self-respect. As a result, they tend to exhibit the same abusive behaviour that was once bestowed upon them toward others in order to mask their own insecurities. In spite of the causes mentioned above, there are viable solutions and appropriate adjustments to improve the situation. First, people could set for themselves some conversation standards or develop a rudeness filter to avoid lashing out at others uncontrollably. This strategy could guarantee certain decency of behaviour, as well as making them politer and more respectful. In addition, governments could allocate more resources into childcare programmes, thereby reducing abusive incidents. As a result, children’s self-esteem and confidence would be increased, making them well mannered members of society. In conclusion, although personal issues and long-term oppression could negatively impact daily attitudes, solutions including better long-term childcare or self-discipline strategies would promote appropriate manners. In my opinion, the situation would be improved greatly within the next 10 years if these ideas were implemented.