Some believe that more action should be taken to prevent crime, while others feel that crime is being tackled effectively now.Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

It is sometimes argued that enough preventative measures have been taken to reduce crime. However, it seems to me new approaches can be adopted as well, and both sides will be explored in this essay. On the one hand, it is claimed that the crime rate is controlled since there are enough punitive measures. Indeed, a potential criminal thinks twice before they decide to break the law as they know they will face harsh punishments based on the acts passed and introduced by the authorities. For example, when a bank robber estimates the years they might be sentenced to spend imprisoned, they will probably cancel their robbery plan. The existing rules and regulations can act as a deterrent in the crime world, though it is advisable authorities adopt new approaches as well. On the other hand, I believe more effort should be put into public awareness. Authorities should follow the lead of Sweden, where a lot of awareness campaigns are held in public places such as schools, subway stations and pedestrian precincts to educated people about the importance of being a law-abiding citizen and the benefits of a secure society. When people come to the realization that they can go for a brisk walk late at nights without being worried about theft, they probably lose their potential interest in committing a crime and avoid causing the same worry for others. In conclusion, I think punitive measures were effective to a certain extent in reducing the crime rate, but more effort should be put into raising public awareness to reduce the crime rate more effectively.