Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

It is thought by some that the governments should invest more in railways than in road infrastructure. In my opinion, I completely agree with this notion. Firstly, better railroads are beneficial to society from an environmental perspective. If the government allocates more funds to improving roads, it would encourage the public who use their cars more, which adversely affects the environment as they emit gases that contribute to problems such as global warming and air pollution. In contrast, trains are relatively environmentally friendly since many communities can be carried in a single carriage. For this reason, if the quality of railways increases, the use of trains will become more common, thus mitigating the negative effects on the environment. Another point to consider is the health benefits that the investment in a railroad system will bring. Most people would agree that driving cars too frequently results in various health risks because it leads to a sedentary lifestyle. For example, obesity and heart diseases are common medical conditions caused by the reduced amount of time exercising. On the other hand, taking a train requires walking and standing to some extent. Therefore, by spending money on railways to make them more convenient, a larger number of individuals will opt for trains as a means for travelling, and this leads people to a healthier lifestyle. In conclusion, I entirely agree with the idea that the investment in railroads instead of roads is more advantageous to a community. The governments should ensure that citizens have a rich public transport system.