More and more people are finding it increasingly important to wear fashionable clothes. Is this attitude to wearing clothes a positive development or negative?

A rising number of individuals place more and more importance on having pieces of clothing that are on trend. Although this tendency may be seen favourable at a personal level, I believe it to be negative on a global scale. As our clothes can be considered to be our second skin, the importance put on them could be substantiated by the following. For most, it is a matter of self-esteem and freedom of expression to own fashionable outfits. They may express their taste, success and belonging to a particular social layer through wearing particular items of clothing. Moreover, this interest in fashion may later turn into a prospective career path for some people, once they decide to study in this domain, and create their own fashion labels in the future. Finally, there are also people who manage to make their passion for fashion be a passive source of their income. They are usually celebrities who are paid by a fashion brand to appear on this brand's garment on social network sites. Nevertheless, I consider that this perception of clothing could be detrimental at a global level. As the fashion stipulates constant changes in preferences, this is likely to escalate the mass production. Fashion labels aiming to meet this augmenting demand could close their eyes to the unsustainable origin of their fabric. This may in turn give a further rise to a number of sweatshops in developing countries where workers are underpaid and forced as well as child labour is applied. The last but not the least victim of this process is our environment. While the human footprint stemming from food and transport has been already affecting both flora and fauna devastatingly, the clothing production at large scales would only exacerbate this problem. In conclusion, despite the positive sides of owning fashionable clothes at an individual level, this is, in my opinion, a complete negative development from a global perspective.