Some people think that the government should pay one of the parents of very young children to stay at home to look after their children. What do you think would be the advantages and disadvantages of this policy?

Parenthood has become a debatable topic over the last decades. It is undeniable that parents, as children’s inner circle, have the responsibility to take care of their son and daughter during their upbringing. A growing number of people believe that the government should pay them a considerable amount of money for these activities. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of such a policy. First and foremost, providing the money for the parents could harness their willingness to take care of their beloved ones at their abode. By and large, most young people who live in the urban areas tend to play outside with their bosom friends after school hours because their parents become breadwinners for their family. In other words, they are unlikely to provide sufficient parental control because they have to work outside the house. By getting adequate cash from the government, they are likely to resign from their current job and start to educate the young generations at home. As a result, children’s supervision would become more effective. However, this approach also introduces some drawbacks. One of the greatest adverse impacts is it would create a huge sum of expenditure borne by the ministry. Obviously, this becomes a serious problem in less-developed countries, which are often more populous than advanced nations. Perhaps an excellent example of this is Indonesia, which consists of more than a million households. If the authority has to pay the whole parents in the country, other sectors, which are considered more vital such as health, education and trade, would be neglected. Consequently, local societies and businesses would experience devastating conditions because of poor public amenities and lack of advanced development. To sum up, cash transfer which is intended to promote better parental supervision on children brings merit to the backbones of a family since it could enhance the quality of supervision. Nevertheless, this intervention obviously presents larger state expenditures. Unless the government carries out rigorous policy evaluations before deciding to scale up this intervention, the country would eventually suffer in the upcoming years.