The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing.

There has been a surge in online shopping in the last fifteen years, providing the users to buy goods and services. However, I have to disagree with the statement that online shopping can lead to the shutdown of all the shops in towns and cities. firstly, the online mode is the most suited for buying air or movie tickets without the hassle of going to an agent or theatre. This is a huge advantage given the hassle of traffic congestion in towns and cities and the amount of time taken to travel. Secondly, the items manufactured at a particular location can also be made available in an online channel can be ordered and shipped to any address. For example, the item available only in China can be viewed by the user on the website and then can purchase and shipped to the address in the United States. On the other hand, some items should not be purchased online according to my view. For instance, I had a size issue with the skirt purchased online. I have placed an order for a medium-sized skirt for my birthday. But I have received a skirt of size ‘L’ which I couldn’t wear on my birthday. Again, I had to place an order for replacing one of my correct sizes. Moreover, one cannot have a sales staff guidance for online shopping which is indeed a pleasure for shoppers. Another point is only 50 per cent of the world’s population has the access to online shopping. And also, online frauds and crimes cause concerns for both purchasers and retailers. In conclusion, although online shopping is an excellent medium for obtaining goods and services, it can never entirely replace the shops in cities and towns. Shoppers can choose to buy goods for their needs from both online and offline channels.