Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that traditional subjects and artistic lessons have the same relevance in the school curriculum, mainly at the preschool level. This essay totally agrees with that statement because children are more able to develop art abilities in early childhood than older and these skills will teach them to deal with emotions, something extremely important for everyone's life. The main reason why schoolchildren should be taught these kinds of topic in the first years of their life is that children have brains with plastic properties and a metabolism far more accelerated than adults, which means that they can learn abilities such as music and arts much faster than anyone older. For example, many types of research have been proven that after teenager brain activity declines more than 30%. Another reason why teachers should give classes about art topics for infant students is that these subjects help them to learn how to deal with emotions. These abilities will allow them to become confident adults and overcome challenges in adulthood. For instance, people that made some artistic activity in childhood are less susceptible to have depression when become older. To conclude, although traditional topics such as Maths and English are essential in children education, it is recommended that primary school students learn music, drama and art skills because they are more susceptible to absorb this knowledge at this age and this learning will help them to tackle with their emotions during all their life.