Some people think high school graduates should travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to study at university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches.

It is common for a student to take a gap year in a foreign country or even work for a year prior to university.Whether a student should engage in travelling or working before embarking on a formal qualification has been a topic of debate for various years.In this essay, the advantages of such activities will be discussed, followed by all the disadvantages. On the one hand, the benefits of resisting educational institution for a year to travel or job open the student's mind to new worlds, such as having responsibility at work or learning a new language abroad. For example, having spent a term in Australia prior to university I learnt how to look for a job, become more responsible with finance and other essential life skills such as cooking.Upon starting university various tasks such as money management and employment were second nature thus allowing more time for studies.Without having gone abroad university life would undoubtedly be more challenging. On the other hand, the disadvantages are mainly cost-related, the airfare, travel insurance, national insurance and personal living costs are large sums. However, finding another opportunity to go abroad is difficult once the pattern of normal life is resumed. In addition, it also an opportunity to experiment with different jobs before choosing a career at university. Therefore there is a considerable advantage of taking a gap year out before higher education. To conclude, the main disadvantages are the costs involved. However, the benefits dramatically outweigh the disadvantages.Time should be spent wisely as it can never be recuperated,unlike money which can be spent and earned.