Some people say that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Rewarding pupils is one of the conspicuous pillars of enhancing the education system. Recently, students reward scheme has become a controversial topic. Whereas some citizens are of the view that it should be based on academic results, others, including me, opine it should depend on the academic progress of the student because this possibly enhances his future prospects and personality. On the one hand, motivating students is the principal reason why some people consider rewarding a student who achieves the highest score. This approach incentivizes best students to be more dedicated and engaging to their lessons. Advocate of this this approach keen to mention Nobel prize as an authentic example as the nominees and winners of this prize are usually individuals who make the most influential contribution in their field. Not only does this prize motivate them to offer more positive contributions, but it also incentivizes many of these winners’ colleagues to work and achieve breakthroughs. As this example makes it clear, if we reward the perfect students, this would possibly make them more successful and motivate their peers to pursue academic success. On the other hand, I would side with those who contend that rewarding scheme should be based on the pupil’s academic progress. Frist, this possibly reinforces a student’s self-esteem since he realizes that his effort will probably enable him to achieve several targets. The likelihood of following a progression-based rewarding method is building a healthy personality of a student. An additional positive of this rewarding system is enhancing a student’s future prospects. Many students find studying is boring and by offering them a continuous support and reward they likely attract to their lessons. This illustrated by the findings of pedagogy study conducted by the Gulf cooperation council (GCC) in August 2020, which emphasized that the changing in rewarding approach in Saudi governmental schools to decorate students who show obvious improvements rather than who achieve highest score, resulted in reducing about 92% in the number of the student who left education from 1970 to 2020. This shows that if teachers show their appreciation to a student’s who made academic improvement and award him, this would likely enhance this student’s academic future. To conclude, despite the importance of motivating students by rewarding the pupils who get highest marks, I believe that showing improvement is a prerequisite to reward them because of the positive influences of this approach on a student’s personality and education prospects.