In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

While there are apparent enormous advantages of imposing tariffs on personal vehicle owners to improvise the public transport. However, there are significant discernible drawbacks such as penalizing a certain sector to promote alternatives and prevent lower and middle-income grade people to have possession of a personal vehicle. My opinion is that it is advisable to increase taxes for the benefit of reducing traffic congestion and pollution. Explicated below are my assertions and the basis of my belief. To begin with, prominent advantages that accrue are better traffic management, reduced pollution leading to a promising future and better urban road management. To illustrate this, as per a recently published report by the department of road and safety, less than half of daily commuters prefers to travel by private cars despite the availability of public transportation. Therefore, increased taxes on personal cars would be promoting the usage of other commutation options such as metros, buses which help in reducing pressure on the transportation system. On the contrary, notable and perceptible disadvantages are preventing a certain sector of the society from owning a vehicle whereas the rich and affluent people can continue with their existing lifestyle. Notwithstanding the fact that the aforementioned drawbacks can be transformed into benefits, yet presently these challenges are worth pondering about. Hence, to tackle the issues of pollution and road safety strong measures are required. In conclusion, having elucidated the major advantages and disadvantages of the above-mentioned issue and having anecdotal evidence supporting my assertions. It is also recommended that the potential of technology and human innovation must be harnessed to maximise the benefits and diminish the drawbacks for the overall welfare of society at large.