Some people think the government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles in order to solve environmental problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Environmental degradation has become a considerable issue these days. One of the best ways to combat this problem requires governmental intervention by making the environmental unfriendly fuels more expensive. I firmly agree with the statement but also, there are many other steps that could be taken at the individual level to overcome this situation. First, the number of vehicles has been increasing rapidly, including cars, motorbikes, and trucks which emit harmful gases in the environment causing air pollution. Undoubtedly, the situation is getting worse that needs to be addressed by the government. If the authorities come forward and make the fuels costly which the public finds unaffordable, the demand for vehicles could be decreased resulting in fewer vehicles on the road. This could be done, for example, by levying more taxes on the purchase of fuels. Whereas, the onus for fighting air pollution does not only lie on the shoulders of lawmakers but also, on the general public. There are many efforts that could be done on the individual level to help fight pollution, for instance, carpooling. Instead of using personal vehicles to travel to work or anywhere, people can share the ride with others and try to accommodate into one car compared to three or four. By doing this, the number of vehicles in use can be reduced and a lot of money could be saved. In conclusion, all the bodies in the system have to participate in order to save the environment, starting from the individual level, followed by commercial bodies such as manufacturers of the vehicles and then the government. However, it is not the sole responsibility of the government and these philanthropic steps can make our surroundings better.