The rise of convenience food has helped people keep up with the speed of modern lifestyle. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

That’s not a secret that today’s hectic lifestyle affects all areas of our life. Our diet is not an exception. More and more people all over the globe choose ready-to-eat meals instead of home cooking. Despite that processed food is unhealthy and leads to obesity and other troubles with health, its popularity doesn’t disappear due to the convenience. My essay will discuss pros & cons of this modern trend. Commercially prepared food has a variety of drawbacks. Starting from shady contents which can be used, and finishing with ecological footstep it brings to our planet. But as I see, the main problem with fast and processed food is a harmful impact which it brings to our health. Not only it contains excessive preservatives to keep it fresh for several months, but also manufacturers add taste enhancers so we keep craving all of these products. Damaging impact on all the systems of human body has been proven by scientific studies so many times. The more people consume convenience food, the more people with health problems there are in our society and the more pressure it gives to our health care system. This doesn’t seem to me as something good. On the other hand, commercially prepared food can be not only a time saver, but also the only available option for some people in some circumstances. For instance, a lot of working places in remote areas, like coil mines or construction grounds, just don’t have any opportunities for placing a kitchen to provide freshly cooked meals to employees. So, there’s no other way to feed people except using processed food. Otherwise, they would just starving which is even worse for a person’s health than any fast food. To conclude, I would like to say that ready-to-eat meals are undoubtedly saving time and lives of so many people day by day. But anyway, we shouldn’t rely on them on our daily basis. We should take care of our health and feed ourselves with the best food available. If it’s not possible to find the time for cooking fresh healthy meals every day, we should try to do it at least 3 times a week. If we do not take care about ourselves, who would do it then?