Many jobs require ongoing training and research to stay competitive in a world with rapidly evolving information and technology. Some believe that it is the responsibility of businesses to pay for this training for their staff while others feel it is up to the individual. Discuss both views and give your own opnion.

Nowadays, in order to remain desirable to companies, individuals must keep their CVs up-to-date by attending training programmes. Some think that this is the responsibility of the individual, whereas others assume it is on the head of the businesses to fund the practice. I believe there is something to be said about both schools of thought and this essay will discuss both viewpoints. On the one hand, there are many individuals who are incredibly talented and have a lot of potential, but cannot further their careers due to a lack of funds. An unfortunate event, as these individuals may have a lot to give, but do not have the means to partake in these courses. Thus, in this situation, both the individual and the business would be at a disadvantage. For example, Rolls Royce has an amazing apprenticeship programme that my young cousin is starting this September. They train school leavers and mould them into individuals who can further benefit the company. Moreover, without this program, she would have looked to get a job rather than furthering her education which would have been a shame thanks to her high IQ and photographic memory. On the other hand, these training programmes are for the personal growth of the individual, which means once they complete the training required, they could leave the company. In this case, the business would be at a loss after spending tens of thousands for a prospective employee. For instance, the NHS pays for part of the graduate-entry programme for Medicine since these applicants are not eligible for student finance. Out of these individuals, a staggering 30% choose not to practice after finishing university and another 15% decide to practice abroad. Consequently, if the NHS did not run the above scheme they may have the money to place elsewhere to ensure current junior doctors are given a pay rise. In conclusion, there are benefits seen in both arguments, which are heavily monetary. I believe this can be solved by a stipulation in the contract to ensure the businesses receive a healthy return on investment, ensuring both parties are successful.