The movement of people from villages to cities for work can cause serious problems in both places. What are the serious problems associated with this? What measures can be taken to solve these problems?

Modernization has made jobs in urban areas more attractive to the rural youth population. However, this has given rise to major societal issues in both villages and towns. This essay will examine two of them and suggest some solutions. In the first place, the migration of labour into cities will drastically ruin the equilibrium of city planning, particularly housing, which was originally meant for a certain volume of residents. For example, the migratory population will not have adequate shelter and will resort to construction in public property, which they are not allowed to do and which will be considered an encroachment. On the other hand, a lack of labour in the villages has created a 'brain drain'. Consequentially, fewer enterprises will be created in those parts of the country, which will make them more impoverished - economically, culturally and societally. To illustrate, growth in rural India is stagnant because of a lack of educational, health and entertainment endeavours, in addition to having very few employment opportunities. To conclude, there are alarming repercussions to the movement of people from a small town to a megapolis where the latter becomes densely populated which ultimately counterbalances the ratio of opportunities in both the regions. To fix this situation, the villagers should be presented with more career opportunities like in the case of India where the government runs schemes such as MGNAREGA which works towards creating more employment for the residents of the agricultural habitations. There could be other solutions that will help solve the gravity of the problem and stop unnecessary migration.