You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Sports, unique things, which can improve us not only physically but also mentally. There are some folks who think that hosting an international sports event is good, even though, for some, that is bad. Actually, everything has noticeable pros and cons. So, the following facts are the considerable advantages and disadvantages of doing as a host to an international sports event. Firstly, hosting an international event can raise the city or country ’s profile and this is the main reason why events are hosted. So, if the country ’s profile is high, more and more tourists and economic investments will come undoubtedly. For example, South Africa held the 2010 FIFA WORLD CUP as a host and after that year, the rate of foreigners who come to that country was more than 20% if we compare it with 2009, the previous year. Secondly, it can create a bunch of job opportunities since jobs very demanding at such times. The most obvious incident is Brazil’s 2014 WORLD CUP which devises more than 80000 part-time and permanent jobs. Moreover, having a sports event in the country can make people feel happy and enthusiastic. For instance, if we have a national football match today, we will sing the national anthem and children are playing happily, creating a lovely environment. In contrast, doing something like this can still have negative impacts on the country such as we have to build a qualified stadium for the events which can cost a lot of money. As an example, Brazil had to build 12 stadiums which cost about 220-300 million dollars so that they could hold the world cup event. In addition, if we can’t host the event greatly, negative publicity will happen without a doubt. As an instance, Winter Olympics had received unfavourable attention because of corruptions and overruns. Last but not least, local businesses experience a loss because of massive advertisements because many big companies spend millions of money for advertisements, sponsoring the event and local businesses become dim among those advertisements. To sum up, everyone has their own thought on every matter and it is very unique. It may be good or bad depending on the point of view. But, is there anyone who doesn’t want to live in a lively place which is decorated with sports. Since I am a fan of sports and it seems to me that in this case, there are more advantages than disadvantages, I sincerely think that hosting an international sport is good either for the country or the people who live in it.